//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tired of

I have a wide range of reading habits. The last book I read was YA (13 Reasons Why). Before that was Let the Great World Spin.
Growing up I read some fantasy, literary, and what was required. I read a Vietnam War novel, The Thirteenth Valley, in high school, and found it to be compelling. I have read some crap that left me feeling fooled. I don’t normally follow any particular trend. I never picked up Harry Potter. I can’t fathom vampires other than Stoker’s. I don’t read mysteries. When you do it for a living it doesn’t seem that interesting.

Television is the same way. I did get on the Zombie train with Walking Dead, but that was because it’s filmed around here. And it’s friggin’ great. You really should be watching it. My wife wanted me to watch COPS, the first reality show ever, every Saturday night. Now why would I want to watch some other people working? Seriously? What if “Teachers” were a show? Would you watch them in conferences, grading papers, and downing Valium? Of course not. So with that, here is what I am tired of, the short list:
1. Dystopian Society
Novels, YA and otherwise, are a little overworked lately. Give it a rest.

2. Supernatural Romance
Unless it’s something innovative. But vampires and other nonexistent creatures are tired of it too.

3. Real Housewives of any well known location
I shouldn’t have to say this. I probably don’t need to. The sooner these franchises fade from memory the better. For good measure they can take Dance Moms, Honey Boo Boo, that phony Bear Grylls, and American Idol.

What do we need more of? How about some decent westerns. I’m being serious. The Western needs to make a comeback.Somebody should really make that happen.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Happy Hiker Trash

Life is short, climb a mountain!

Wanderstruck Studio

Stories and Fiber Art from 5,000 Miles of Adventures, by Kris Grenier

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Tales and Such

Writings, wondering, and stuff

